RaymondM | BLEU

The First NBA Awards Show Turns Out To Be A Solid Night

Hosted by Drake, the first ever NBA Awards show on TNT had a solid night featuring big time players getting awards, outrageous skits and nice looking outfits shown off in New York City.


Before the show started, a lot of NBA players shown off their nice and ridiculous looks. Kemba Walker was fresh to death on the red carpet, but Draymond Green looked like a complete fool wearing a green suit with shorts. Then  when the show started they gave out awards and had funny skits in between. Drake impersonating as Stephen Curry and using the “Get Out” theme was kind of awkward, especially if Curry and his family were watching it.


But one of the best moments of the night was giving the Sager Strong Award to Monty Williams. Craig Sager died last year due to cancer and the NBA supported his family by wearing Sager like shirts. This award is for the mental toughness and courage of Williams, who lost his wife in a car crash and spoke about it to the NBA community.


This and Russell Westbrook’s MVP acceptance speech were emotional moments that shows why sports connects to life so much. The up and down times and working hard on long term goals that others think is impossible really gives hope for not just rising players, but individuals in their careers. It was still a solid event and depending on what Adam Silver does with the Awards show moving forward can determine if viewers will see it next year.


Check out the full list of winners below and Westbrook’s acceptance speech:


Game-Winner of the Year: Russell Westbrook over the Denver Nuggets

Performance of the Year: Klay Thompson scores 60 points against the Indiana Pacers

Dunk of the Year: Victor Oladipo dunks on Dwight Howard

Block of the Year: Kawhi Leonard (San Antonio Spurs)

Assist of the Year: Stephen Curry to Kevin Durant on the fast break against the Indian Pacers

NBA Sportsmanship Award:  Kemba Walker (Charlotte Hornets)

Best Style Award: Russell Westbrook (Oklahoma City Thunder)

Lifetime Achievement Award: Bill Russell (Boston Celtics)

Twyman-Stokes Teammate of the Year Award:  Dirk Nowitzki (Dallas Maverick)

NBA Executive of the Year: Bob Myers (Golden State Warriors)

KIA NBA Rookie of the Year: Malcolm Brogdon (Milwaukee Bucks)

KIA NBA Sixth Man Award: Eric Gordon (Houston Rockets)

KIA Most Improved Player: Giannis Antetokounmpo (Milwaukee Bucks)

NBA Coach of the Year: Mike D’Antoni (Houston Rockets)

Sager Strong Award: Monty Williams

KIA NBA Defensive Player of the Year: Draymond Green (Golden State Warriors)

KIA NBA Most Valuable Player: Russell Westbrook (Oklahoma City Thunder)


The author: RaymondM